Devizes to Westminster Canoe Race
Devizes to Westminster 2019 Beaujolais Goes Forth

History Repeating – Kinda

My phone cheerfully reminding me that it’s a mere 2 days to go till I paddle under the bridge at Devizes and into another unknown… The unknown 4 days Devizes to Westminster Singles.

Right now the straight through Senior K2 event seems like a good option, purely and simply for the fact it gets it all over and done with – not having to paddle for what feels, right now, like days and days on end… I some ways it is days and days, and long days, days with multiple portages and other hazards to be navigated – it’s going to be great!!

In an attempt to distract myself from the impending greatness I pulled out some old photos – I love an old photo album and can happily spend hours flicking through the pages lost in nostalgia – I’m a soppy old goat really.

The photos above were taken 27 years ago – to the weekend – 13-14th April 1990.  The BOB on this occasion was my Dad – K2 Senior in 26.11hrs, awesome! Just for the record the FOB was my first ever canoeing instructor – these two are entirely to blame for my love of all things paddle sports. Devizes, Marsh and Westminster are still instantly recongnisable (although no Millennium Wheel in those days…) – the portage  with the boat on shoulders i have no idea where it is – answers on a postcard…

The training is done, no more training, no more portages just for the sake of portages… The last two weeks have been, as they always are, a horrible drag – just waiting on it being time to head south and get the job done. But that time is rapidly approaching – thank crunchie!!

The winter of training has been great, and I’m not sure I would have done anything differently. The weather this winter has been odd, but in a good way…. less wind and subzero temperatures than we have seen for any of our other training campaigns, it’s been a little surreal…. and it looks like the ‘meh’ is due to continue right into Easter weekend – brilliant…. Daren’t hope that the forecast holds…

So the hopes and fears are ever present and building… looking forward to the paddle, to the challenge, to the bubble – it’s all about meeee!!! Concerns are the body not holding out, swans and tideway/general gin cruisers – but all I can do is worry about what is within my control, keep smiling and just keep bloody paddling…

Onwards!!!

 

No Responses to “History Repeating – Kinda”

Leave a comment