Devizes to Westminster Canoe Race
Devizes to Westminster 2019 Beaujolais Goes Forth

365 little days…


This time last year it was all over… Beaujolais and Dirty D realised their DW dream by passing under Westminster Bridge, in good time and good humour…
Brilliant, no need to do all that again…. 

So in 19 days I’ll be paddling down the Thames, in a k1 this time around…. and I have been asked why? What keeps me motivated to paddle through the worst of the weather, what keeps us moving forward? It’s almost impossible to put into words – I love paddling, I love being outdoors, I love activities that are on the slightly bonkers side of normal…. but is that enough to drag a tired body out of bed at 5am at the weekend, to organise the rest of life around paddling, and the constant monitoring of the weather…? I honestly don’t know what the answer is, perhaps if I did I’d be in a position to write a best selling motivation book…. ‘how to conquer your hopes and fears – a practical guide to making the DW canoe race a reality’ Might need to work on a snappier title…

In many ways, and I’ve said this before, it simplifies life… No need to choose between swimming, running, gym, paddling – its all about the paddling with the tiniest amount of running thrown in, and that can be scheduled for when the weather doesn’t allow for paddling – simples.

Why am I back for 2017, no idea…. but I am!

No Responses to “365 little days…”

Leave a comment